January 31, 2014

  • Epic Road Trip, day 25

    We were down to our last full day of our road trip and I was excited about taking the three kids geocaching in Lincoln City and seeing different places along the coast. So after a lazy breakfast and sending my SIL off to work, we got ready to go play.

    July 25 (1)

    From muddy shores to dense, mossy woods, we searched out one cache after another.

    July 25 (3)

    It was fun to look for caches and see such beautiful scenery at the same time.

    July 25 (7)

    And seeing the same scenery from slightly different angles, too.

    July 25 (8)

    Onward to the Devil’s Punchbowl, which I’d stopped at the year before but wanted to see again, and show the kids as well.

    July 25 (15)

    July 25 (13)

    July 25 (18)

    There were plenty of tourists wandering around, and my nephew, bless his little 6-year old heart, had found some gaseous putty stuff in a cache. So he’d adorably and innocently walk up to strangers and with his hands behind him would engage them in conversation just long enough to get their attention and then he’d let ‘er rip — squeezing the putty produced the most unpleasant sound. He’d bust up laughing at the disgusted look on their faces and then wander off in search of his next victim.

    It was time to move on.

    July 25 (14)

    July 25 (22)

    This will be my last chance to say it, so I will just say it and get it over with. This is one of my favorite photos from the trip. I love the blues and greens, and the contrast of the browns and white, and the island there on the horizon.

    July 25 (21)

    We were on a mission to find the best of the best caches in Lincoln City to qualify for a challenge so we zigged and zagged till we found them all, even meeting the challenge cache owner at one of the locations. It was a good experience for the kids to see some clever caches (like ones in a PVC pipe with holes in it that you have to plug with your fingers, fill with water and catch the cache as it floats up).

    July 25 (25)

    See the surfers out there trying to have a good time?

    July 25 (26)

    The kids had been behaving and having a good time, but we were all getting hungry. I suggested Subway sandwiches and my nephew cheered “Yea! Subway! I love Subway! Love it! It’s sooooooo yummy!” so we go in and I ask him what he wants. He looked at me with a totally blank look and said, “I don’t know. I’ve never eaten at Subway before.”

    Ohhhh-kay.

    We got ordered (always interesting) and settled in to eat. I get weird looks when Quin orders — he isn’t as wild about Subway as his cousin was (till we got there, anyway) so he ends up ordering a meat, cheese and olive sandwich. That isn’t when I get weird looks, those come when he requests at least 4 condiments like brown mustard, BBQ sauce, mayonnaise and regular mustard. And oil and vinegar. And salt and pepper.

    July 25 (38)

    What a day. We did some more caching and played on the beach again and then headed back when my SIL got home from work. Our last night on “the road”, and we head back home tomorrow!

Comments (1)

  • Ha ha your nephew is a stinker! I always want turkey ham and cheese at subway. They think I’m nuts for not wanting anything else on it.
    Amazing pictures.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *