January 24, 2014

  • Epic Road Trip, day 24

    July 24 (17)

    My SIL went off to work and we took her son / my nephew / the kids’ cousin with us as we went shopping for snackage and then began our caching and playing on the beach adventures.

    July 24 (1)

    I much prefer the heat of the desert but the feeling of being at the ocean and playing in the warm sand with all that cold water and wind around it is really special.

    July 24 (4)

    The tide was out and the boys were off!

    July 24 (7)

    My nephew had to see what I was getting a picture of. I said, “of my feet with the water. Oh, and your shadow.”

    July 24 (8)

    The waves crashing onto shore is one of my favorite things to watch!

    July 24 (11)

    Kendrah the pirate is waiting for her ship to come in.

    July 24 (15)

    And I find the perfect way to say “hi” in the sand.

    July 24 (16)

    The kids and I had made a UV reactive pony-bead anklet with shell beads before we’d left. When I wasn’t in the sun it was all white but when I was in the sun (and sand!) they glowed different colors. The ones that are still white in the picture are the ones that glow in the dark instead. It was a fun piece of jewelry although I couldn’t wear it a lot of the time previously as my ankles were too swollen in the heat. And as you can see, my nail polish didn’t last the whole trip, but I do have tan lines and my toe rings are still shiny!

    July 24 (19)

    There wasn’t much driftwood with which to make forts so the boys had to go far and wide to find some, then drag it back to home base.

    July 24 (20)

    Then Kendrah got into the action to help haul a huge log. This venture wasn’t very successful but it kept them busy.

    July 24 (30)

    Then it was time to hang out on the hill with me, dig a hole, stick the small one in it and pack him in. This is what’s called Fun At The Beach, folks.

    July 24 (34)

    The birds were entertained by our digging antics.

    July 24 (38)

    Done with the beach for a while, we went caching around town.

    July 24 (41)

    July 24 (43)

    July 24 (46)

    And visited the Hatfield Marine Science Center while we were in the area. Then we decided to find our way under the bridge to find another geocache that had strange parking I hadn’t figured out last time I was here.

    July 24 (47)

    July 24 (48)

    While there, the kids climbed the large pile of rocks and struck some silhouette poses for me.

    July 24 (51)

    They also set down the caching stamp I’d bought before the trip with all our caching names on it and lost it here. I even went back once I realized it was gone but we never found it.

    As evening fell and it was time to go home, we had a nice time catching up and watching a movie till bedtime.

Comments (1)

  • We have snow again today. I am jealous of your sun soaked pictures.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *