January 12, 2014

  • Epic Road Trip, day 21, part 1

    After spending the previous day caching in Rio Linda, where my sister-in-law told me later I shouldn’t have gone, her and my brother, and my brother that came up from where he lives in California, my kids and I all got together — girls in one car, boys in another — and went to Old Sacramento. One of my big splurge ideas for the trip was taking the Underground tour.

    While we were waiting for the tour to start we spent a bit of time wandering the boardwalks and peeking in the windows of some shops.

    July 21 (1)

    July 21 (3)

    Yes, Quin was pretty impressed by the Lego bear and would have happily spent the day surrounded by Legos he could play with, but we had other things to do.

    July 21 (4)

    This is where our tour started. I wasn’t allowed to photograph anything during the tour so the camera had to take a nap.

    July 21 (7)

    After the tour, however, our guide, Miss Odessa, encouraged us to get a photo of her with the kids so we did that. As you can see, Kendrah was crazy about her and Quin didn’t want to be there at all.

    July 21 (6)

    Quin found his own brand of fun elsewhere!

    July 21 (9)

    We spent some time in the history museum and I got several photos that I thought would make great puzzles. In fact, this day was so full of interesting textures and colors I got a lot of puzzle photos.

    July 21 (10)

    July 21 (11)

    I also found it vastly amusing to see a replica building inside the museum. The Sacramento Bee, in part of it’s glory, displayed inside.

    July 21 (18)

    Inside the building-inside-a-building I could see some of the original printer’s tools, the press and stuff my Dad could probably name but just looked like cool tools to me.

    July 21 (19)

    July 21 (20)

    After the museum, we wandered around the grounds near the Sacramento River and did some more window-shopping.

    July 21 (24)

    We went into an olive oil and vinegar tasting room, and I was in awe of how many flavors there were. Vats and vats and vats lined up along the walls and center aisle that we could sample at will. I didn’t think it would be fun to taste oils and vinegars without something to eat it with, but it was a very interesting experience and I really appreciate that I did it. It was easy to taste it and connect it in my brain to a memory of a food. That would be excellent added to a spaghetti sauce, that vinegar would be good with fresh cucumbers, can’t you just imagine how a loaf of French bread would be dipped in this oil? There were a few I wouldn’t try, a few I tried and didn’t like, and a lot I didn’t get around to tasting, but the majority of ones I did taste, both oil and vinegar, were outstanding.

    July 21 (26)

    July 21 (25)

    July 21 (27)

    After a while, with 6 different tummies all growling we decided to stop what we were doing and immediately….

    July 21 (29)

    ….because we couldn’t wait for their special.

    July 21 (30)

    But the meal and the rest of our day has to wait for another post.

Comments (1)

  • Old Sac used to be a really fun place to go — looks even better now. Love the puzzle shots!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *