January 11, 2014

  • Epic Road Trip, day 20

    On the 20th we were settled into my brother and SIL's house, but they had to work that day (some people can't take 4-week long vacations, apparently) so we had the day to play. I wanted to go caching. The kids wanted to go play at a park their aunt told them about. Guess who won?

    July 20 (1)

    July 20 (2)

    July 20 (3)

    July 20 (9)

    Yes, absolutely we went to the park. Kendrah lagged behind after a stop at the restrooms so I gave her a moment of paparazzi fame by jumping out from behind a planter to get this photo.

    July 20 (6)

    And yeah, with her newly dyed hair, she sucked up the attention.

    July 20 (8)

    The kids climbed.

    July 20 (10)

    July 20 (13)

    And then took the swings to new heights. They were having a great time, but it was hot and I was bored.

    July 20 (15)

    It was really hot and there was no place to sit and nothing to drink so I gave them some time but then said let's go caching! I had loaded my GPS with a string of caches nearby but traffic was a bear and once the kids had stopped playing they realized how hot it was and wanted to drive around a bit so I drove to another trail with a long string of challenge caches, most of which I qualified for, in another town. I didn't take my camera out because it wasn't a very pretty place. Ok, it wasn't even a nice place. When we got back to my brother and SILs and told her where we'd been she practically shrieked that no one goes to that town and most people drive far out of their way to avoid it and was surprised I'd gone there instead of staying in the nice part of her town. One good thing about being a tourist, you can see things you don't normally see, and go places you don't normally go. That's pretty much what we did and I got a lot of cool caches so that's all that matters, right?

    The next day, my brother came up to our brother's house to spend the day with us and we had a full, fun, and exciting day which will take several posts to convey so we'll keep this one short and sweet and post about tomorrow on another day.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *